What is a Exemplification of Charity, Unity and Fraternity?

For Candidates and Online Members

Within the Order, there are four “Degrees” of Knighthood, and each degree is meant to exemplify one of our four principles: Charity, Unity, Fraternity, and Patriotism.

A candidate joins our Order by participating in the Exemplification of Charity, Unity and Fraternity. Family and friends can witness men participate in this ceremony, which about 30 minutes.

Upon completion, he is then said to be a Third Degree Knight of Columbus. The highest degree is the Fourth Degree. A Fourth Degree Knight earns the title of "Sir Knight."

So imagine being part of an organization that fills your heart and your mind with the joy of giving to others and the feeling that comes with making a difference.

Being a Knight is more than camaraderie; it is being involved with your community; it is supporting your local Catholic Church, while enhancing your own faith; it is about protecting and enhancing your family life.

We are Catholic men, 18 years of age and older, who are committed to making their community a better place, while supporting their Church.

Come see just what we are all about and take the first steps to enhance your personal life by participating in the Exemplification of Charity, Unity and Fraternity.

Candidates or Online Members seeking admission to join Marquette Council should first contact Marquette Council prior to participating in the Exemplification.

For more information, please contact the following:

Barry Waller, PGK


Paul Gagnet, PGK


Understanding the Emblem of Our Order

All Brother Knights are entrusted with the Emblem of the Order. But do you understand its symbolism?

The emblem of the Order, which dates to 1883, consists of a blue shield mounted on top a red and white Formée Cross. The shield is associated with a medieval Knight, and the Formée Cross represents the Cross of Christ, which represents the Catholic spirit of our Order.

Mounted on the shield are three objects: (1) a fasces (which is a bundle of wooden sticks with a protruding medieval ax); (2) an anchor; and (3) a short sword.

Dating to Roman times, the fasces is symbolic of authority, which must exist in any tightly-bonded and efficient organization. The anchor is the mariner’s symbol for Columbus, the patron of our Order, and the sword was the weapon of the Knight when engaged upon an errand of mercy. Thus, the shield and its objects express Catholic Knighthood in organized merciful action.

The red, white and blue found on the Emblem are the colors of our country. Red is the symbol of courage. Blue is the symbol of hope, and white is the symbol of nobility. More importantly, red is also the color of Christ’s blood, and the symbol of our faith in Christ. White is the color of the Eucharistic Host, and the symbol of Charity. And blue is the color of Our Lady’s mantle, and the symbol of Hope. Thus, they symbolize Faith, Hope and Charity.

Always wear the Emblem of the Order with Pride, Dignity, and Honor, and be inspired to live the virtues it proclaims.